Is Delhi and New Delhi same?

Most of the people think that delhi and new delhi are the same place, which is not true. New Delhi is the capital of India, is a place in Delhi, which comes under the government of India.

The story starts with Pandavas, around 2500 BC. Indraprastha, the capital of pandavas in the Indian epic Mahabharat. Most of the Hindu text state that the city of Delhi used to referred to in Sanskrit as Hastinapur, Which means “elephant city”.

Old Delhi which is a part of the modern day Delhi state was founded by Shah Jahan in 1639 named as Shahjahanabad, When Shah Jahan shifted his capital city from agra to delhi . Shah Jahan constructed a walled city, which was completed by 1648.

Map of shahjahanabad

Archaeological survey of India provide some evidence that suggest that Indraprastha once stood where the Old Fort is today. Delhi remained the capital of Mughal emperor till 1857. After that delhi took over by british raj.

Delhi in British Era

During early 19th century british decide to shift thier capital from present day kolkata , then called Calcutta, till the end of 1931 britisher acquired land which was used for building new government buildings, and offices for the bureaucrats, Thus came the existence of New Delhi with in the city of Delhi. During the construction of the new buildings to make way for New Delhi the british demolised the ancient village Indraprastha, once stood where the Old Fort is today

Delhi District Map

Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker are the two architecture, who designed the New Delhi. The new british capital was inaugurated on 13th Feb 1931 by Viceroy & Governor General of British India Lord Irwin

Government of India in recognition of his contribution of Edward lutyens, New Delhi is also known as ” Lutyens Delhi”.

He was the main architecture of several monuments in New Delhi such as Baroda House, Bikaner House, Hyderabad House, Patiala House, India Gate, Viceroy’s House, which is now known as the Rashtrapati Bhavan and Parliament house of India.

Other member of the team of architect , who built Secretariat Buildings (North and South Block), Connaught Place, he Eastern and Western Courts on Janpath, Teen Murti House, Safdarjung Airport, National Stadium and several government houses

Delhi established as Union Territory in 1956, In 1991 by amendment of 69th constitutional act declared the Union Territory of Delhi to be formally known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

1991 declared the Union Territory of Delhi to be formally known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi. The Act gave Delhi its own legislative assembly along Civil lines, though with limited powers, The Act gave Delhi its own legislative assembly along Civil lines, though with limited powers

The Lieutenant Governor of Delhi is the constitutional head of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, LG who represent the government of India function under the control of Home Ministry.

Specifically for New Delhi, Lt Governor has additional powers (land,law and order,etc) considering the status of New Delhi. All decisions made by the legislative assembly require Lt Governor’s approval. Where there is a difference of opinion between assembly and the Lt Governor, the matter is referred to the president.

For administrative purpose Delhi is divided into 9 District.

Sl.No.DistrictHeadquarterSub divisions (Tehsils)  
1New DelhiConnaught PlaceChanakyapuriDelhi CantonmentVasant Vihar
2North DelhiAlipurModel TownNarelaAlipur
3North West DelhiKanjhawalaRohiniKanjhawalaSaraswati Vihar
4West DelhiRajouri GardenPatel NagarPunjabi BaghRajouri Garden
5South West DelhiDwarkaDwarkaNajafgarhKapashera
6South DelhiSaketSaketHauz KhasMehrauli
7South East DelhiDefence ColonyDefence ColonyKalkajiSarita Vihar
8Central DelhiDaryaganjKotwaliCivil LinesKarol Bagh
9North East DelhiNand NagriSeelampurYamuna ViharKarawal Nagar
10ShahdaraShahdaraShahdaraSeemapuriVivek Vihar
11East DelhiPreet ViharGandhi NagarPreet ViharMayur Vihar

Mr. Arvind Kejriwal is the current chief minister of delhi for two terms since 2014. After the elections for the delhi legislative assembly, the LG of Delhi invites the party with majority of seats to form the government. Since 1952 Delhi has seven chief ministers